36th Annual General Meeting Summary

The Sutherland District Basketball Association has conducted the 36th Annual General Meeting for the Association and would like to provide members and wider community the following summary of events.

The 36th AGM called for 3 volunteer board positions each being provided a two-year term. We are proud to announce the return of Loretta Passerini to the SDBA board for a further term (2 years) and welcome new board members Tim Cavanagh and Vanessa Hutchinson, both who join the board for their first term.

The Sutherland Basketball Association would like to acknowledge and thank the outgoing board members Rhett McGillicuddy and John Sheehy. Rhett has worked tirelessly with the Association to conduct the recent bathroom and stadium renovations as well as currently actively coaching within our representative program. We thank Rhett for his time and dedication to the club. SDBA would also like to thank John Sheehy who has served on the SDBA board for 2 terms (4 years) and was instrumental in the initiation of the NBL1 program to Sutherland Basketball and is a proud championship winner as an assistant coach to our Men’s NBL1 program in 2023.

The AGM has also seen the internal positions on the board change, with long standing President Warren Phillip-Clark stepping down from the role due to  ongoing work commitments. Warren, an important figure head for SDBA has piloted the club through the Covid 19 pandemic, seen the initiation of the NBL1 program, is an active referee within the SDBA and Menai community and has seen the club through to its current state of membership growth. Warren will continue on the SDBA board for the final year of his term in 24/25 as a committee member.

The Sutherland Basketball Association would like to welcome new SDBA President Tim Cavanagh. Tim is a well-known individual within the SDBA community. He has extensive experience in basketball and the Media and Communications industry. Tim, the current CEO of his own company TJC Media, brings extensive corporate, fundraising and government stakeholder management experience.

The Treasurer position will now be held by Glenn Gooding who actively coaches within our representative program and has extensive knowledge of facilities and facility operations management.

We would like to welcome all our board members and thank them for their time and dedication to the club.


  • President: Tim Cavanagh
  • Treasurer: Glenn Gooding
  • Committee Member: Warren Phillip Clark
  • Committee Member: Loretta Passerini
  • Committee Member: Vanessa Hutchinson
  • Committee Member: Mark Phillips
  • Committee Member: Brad Garland

For any media enquiries regarding the 36th AGM can be directed to General Manager Adrian Dark adriand@sutherlandbasketball.net.au